North Haven's original Pulpit Harbor "first" bridge (shown above) shared many features of the Lane's Island bridge, including a historic multiple granite-pier design, construction age, and structural condition. A significant difference, however, is the volume of traffic using the Pulpit Harbor bridge year-round, since it provides access to the North Shore Road and to many year-round residences.
Local North Haven residents, partnering with NH Conservation Partners, mounted a social media campaign during 2015 to influence the design and replacement of the historic structure, which the Maine DOT had initially proposed removing and replacing with a concrete and steel bridge. Rather than completely replacing the original bridge and its granite supports with a concrete highway bridge, the MDOT initially agreed instead to do a "Superstructure Replacement with Substructure Rehabilitation", retaining the original bridge alignment and strengthening granite sections. The final product did not retain any of the central granite piers, but instead replaced them with a long girder bridge.
The Bailey Island Bridge connecting Orr's Island and Bailey's Island was built in 1928 and is known as the Cribstone Bridge. Due to the tidal action in the area, the bridge's foundation was made from granite slabs to withstand the waves and winds. The bridge was listed on the National Historic Registry of Places in 1975 and in 1983 listed as a Historic Civil Engineering Landmark.
In 2000, after decades of inspections and continuous maintenance, officials determined that the Bailey Island Bridge required major repairs. The possibility of replacement was also reviewed. After officials concluded that modest traffic volume would permit rehabilitation —instead of replacement, the Maine Historic Preservation Commission provided input on preliminary designs, and the Dry Stone Conservancy provided technical guidance on stone repairs. The MaineDOT was committed to maintaining the unique granite substructure in accordance with the historic bridge management plan. The rehabilitation effort initiated in 2008 and completed in 2011 resulted in the preservation of this unique bridge.
The "second" bridge at Pulpit Harbor on North Haven, known as Beach Bridge, was recently renovated by the Maine DOT after significant deterioration required the lowering of load limits.
Used extensively by local fishermen for harbor access and offloading, as well as for recreation access, the bridge had central granite pier supports that were retained and geotechnically reinforced as part of the rehabilitation.
The granite Weskeag River Bridge on Route 73 in South Thomaston was demolished and replaced by the Maine DOT with a new bridge in October 2017. The new bridge used precast concrete abutments and superstructure, which allowed it to be constructed very rapidly. The pre-existing central granite pier from the original 1931 bridge was removed to allow for better hydraulics and increased boat passage, resulting in a single long span over the river.
An excellent short video of that construction project is available here: